S.M.EBrandigest

Inspire*Branding*Entrepreneurship

Punctuality Is The Soul of Business


time

“If I have made an appointment with you, I owe you punctuality, I have no right to throw away your time, if I do my own”                                                            —- CECIL RICHARD

For over a week Mr X ( named withheld) has contacted me for an In-house training for his staff on TEAM BUILDING and PEAK PERFORMANCE. Just yesterday we finally scheduled a formal meeting to discuss on the terms and other matters. We fixed the meeting for today, Tuesday, 12th March, 2013. Venue: At his Surulere office. Time: 10:00am prompt.

I woke up this morning, happy and prepared to meet my new client. I was at this client’s Ogunlana Drive Surulere office at exactly 9.30am. I met his secretary who told me that her boss is not yet in the office. 9.45am, I called Mr X to inform him that I am at the reception waiting to meet him as we agreed. To my surprise, it has escaped his memory that we even had an agreement to meet this morning. But he made a solemn promise to be there in office in the next 30minutes. I agreed.

Let me cut this narrative and save you the time of reading a long and annoying experience. This man never showed up. After another 20minutes grace, he never showed his face so I left  to  have a quick brunch at a nearby Tantalizer ( fast-food). While I was having my meal, I called him that I have left his office but at a Tantalizer near his office. In case he is fast he can meet me  there. Again, he made yet another unfulfilled promise. This time that he will join me in 10minutes.

It is 2.30pm I am back to work. So annoyed. Still no text message or return call from this CEO to at least apologise for wasting my productive time or (to make another laughable promise or flimsy excuse, maybe to calm infuriated nerves).

In business, time is a very important factor. A very core element. Punctuality is very influential. How late , early or timely you show up for that business meeting, interview, project defense,  pitch / proposal presentation has a way of influencing decisions to your favor or against you.  Being late for any kind of business engagement portrays you as irresponsible and cast doubt on your reliability. It is unprofessional

“I could never think well of a man’s intellectual or moral character, if he was habitually unfaithful to his appointments” —- EMMONS NATHANIEL

As entrepreneurs, lets make it our serious brand value to deliver our goods and service on time, be early at meetings, and  honor our words. No serious business executive or organization will sign that contract or approve that deal or favor you above other competitors when you make them wait so long for you to show up at the meeting / presentation room. Especially when you are the one who need something dear from them.

Punctuality is not an inherited trait, it has to be desired, nurtured by each individual. Please let all of us make TIME / PUNCTUALITY a big part of our business life. An important value.

“Punctuality is one of the cardinal business virtues: always insist on it in your subordinates”

—- DON MARQUIS 

4 comments on “Punctuality Is The Soul of Business

  1. Tom McCollum
    March 13, 2013

    Actions all add up to a personal brand! Enjoyed your insights––thanks for sharing!

    Tom

  2. Nnadozie Egeonu
    March 14, 2013

    Thanks Tom. You really summarized it all. Cheers

  3. Kolapo
    March 19, 2013

    Punctuality is very essential. I have been sacked before because I got late to my place of work. Thanks.

  4. Nnadozie Egeonu
    March 19, 2013

    Sorry to hear that Kolapo… Guess you are now doing good.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2013 by in BUSINESS, Management Team, personal branding and tagged , , , , .
